Awards / Outstanding Technology Award



Title: Validation of prediction method of addiction-inducing drug based on electrical activity of cultured human iPS cell-derived dopamine neurons
Winner: ISHIBASHI Yuto
Affiliation: Graduate School of Engineering, Tohoku Institute of Technology
Title: Reactive oxygen species (ROS) assay without using DMSO
Winner: OHTAKE Toshiyuki
Affiliation: Shiseido Co., Ltd.
Title: Understanding the drug-induced hepatotoxicity in rats —Involvement of the CYP1A1 inhibition-mediated activation of the aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AHR)—
Winner: YODA Tomomi
Affiliation: Preclinical Research Unit, Sumitomo Pharma Co., Ltd.


Title: Development of cell-based high-throughput screening for the evaluation of reactive metabolite formation potential
Winner: HARADA Kosuke
Affiliation: Drug Safety Research & Evaluation, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
Title: Detection of acute and chronic cardiotoxicity by imaging-based contractile assay system using human iPS cell-derived cardiomyocytes
Winner: YANAGIDA Shota
Affiliation: Division of Pharmacology, National Institute of Health Sciences / Graduated School of Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Okayama University


Title: Approaches to understanding idiosyncratic drug toxicity using human HLA transgenic mice
Winner: AOKI Shigeki
Affiliation: Laboratory of Biopharmaceutics, Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Chiba University
Title: Establishment of a new risk assessment method for skin sensitization by applying the dermal sensitization threshold
Winner: NISHIJO Taku
Affiliation: Safety Science Research Laboratories, Kao Corporation


Title: Human iPS cell-derived mast cells useful for in vitro mast cell activation assay exhibiting phenotypes and morphological characteristics of human mast cells
Winner: IKUNO Tatsuya
Affiliation: Research Division, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Title: Establishment of human iPS cell-derived hepatocyte panel that defects drug metabolizing enzymes, CYPs, using genome editing technologies for drug toxicity screening
Winner: DEGUCHI Sayaka
Affiliation: Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Osaka University
Title: Development of a novel in chemico method for skin sensitization, the amino acid derivative reactivity assay (ADRA)
Winner: YAMAMOTO Yusuke
Affiliation: Safety Evaluation Center, Ecology & Quality Management Div., ESG Div., FUJIFILM Corporation


Title: Application of motion field imaging of human iPS cell-derived cardiomyocytes to cardiac safety assessment
Winner: ISOBE Takehito
Affiliation: Research Division, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Title: Chimeric mice with humanized livers demonstrate human-specific hepatotoxicity caused by a therapeutic antibody against TRAIL-receptor 2/death receptor 5
Winner: NIHIRA Kaito
Affiliation: Kyowa Hakko Kirin Co., Ltd.
Title: A long-term culture system based on a collagen vitrigel membrane chamber that supports liver-specific functions of hepatocytes isolated from mice with humanized livers
Winner: WATARI Ryuji
Affiliation: Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics Tsukuba, Global Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics, Biopharmaceutical Assessments Core Function Unit, Medicine Development Center, Eisai Co., Ltd., Department of Genomics-Based Drug Discovery, Graduate School of Comprehensive Human Sciences, University of Tsukuba


Title: Establishment of an novel 3D culture method, air-liquid interface organoid culture and application in toxicity test
Winner: USUI Tatsuya
Affiliation: Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology

Title: A rapid mitochondrial toxicity assay utilizing rapidly changing cell energy metabolism
Winner: SANUKI Yosuke
Affiliation: Asahi Kasei Pharma Co.


Title: Proposal of a universal in vitro assay for detection of potential risk of severe infusion reaction of monoclonal antibody pharmaceuticals
Winner: IWATA Yoshika
Affiliation: Safety Assessment Dept., Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Title: Risk assessment of drug-induced liver injury by the expression of immune and inflammation-related factors and microRNAs
Winner: ODA Shingo
Affiliation: Nagoya University Graduate School of Medicine
Title: Establishment of short/medium-term carcinogenesis bioassay by dermal application
Winner: NUMANO Takamasa
Affiliation: DIMS Institute of Medical Science, Inc.